Special Supporters for Sakura Science Exchange Program

We Support Sakura Science Exchange Program!

We support Sakura Science Exchange Program. 

We have high hopes for this program and are confident that it will produce a huge asset in the future of our countries.

We encourage and urge youth in foreign countries and Japan as well all related institutions and agencies to actively participate in Sakura Science Exchange Program. 

Academics, etc.

Leo Esaki
President, Yokohama College of Pharmacy; 1973 Nobel Prize in Physics
Susumu Tonegawa
Director, Okinawa Institute of Science and Technology; Professor, Massachusetts Institute of Technology; 1987 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine
Hideki Shirakawa
Professor Emeritus, University of Tsukuba; 2000 Nobel Prize in Chemistry
Ryoji Noyori
Director, Science Museum,Tokyo; 2001 Nobel Prize in Chemistry
Koichi Tanaka
Senior Fellow, Shimadzu Corporation; 2002 Nobel Prize in Chemistry
Makoto Kobayashi
Honorary Professor Emeritus, KEK (High Energy Accelerator Research Organization); 2008 Nobel Prize in Physics
Toshihide Maskawa
Director, Kobayashi-Maskawa Institute for the Origin of Particles and the Universe; 2008 Nobel Prize in Physics
Osamu Shimomura
Professor Emeritus, Boston University; 2009 Nobel Prize in Chemistry
Akira Suzuki
Professor Emeritus, Hokkaido University; 2010 Nobel Prize in Chemistry
Ei-ichi Negishi
Distinguished Professor, Purdue University; 2010 Nobel Prize in Chemistry
Shinya Yamanaka
Professor, Kyoto University; 2012 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine
Hiroshi Amano
Professor, Nagoya University; 2014 Nobel Prize in Physics
Shuji Nakamura
Professor, University of California, Santa Barbara; 2014 Nobel Prize in Physics
Satoshi Omura
Professor Emeritus,Kitasato University;2015 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine
Takaaki Kajita
Director,Institute for Cosmic Ray Research University of Tokyo;2015 Nobel Prize in Physics
Yoshinori Ohsumi
Specially Appointed Professor, Institute of Innovative Research, Tokyo Institute of Technology;
2016 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine
Tasuku Honjo
Director, the Center for Cancer Immunotherapy and Immunobiology, Kyoto University; Distinguished Professor, Institute for Advanced Study, Kyoto University; 2018 Nobel Prize in Medicine or Physiology
Reiko Kuroda
Professor, Tokyo University of Science; former Vice President of ICSU
Hiroaki Nakanishi
Chairman, KEIDANREN(Japan Business Federation)
Mamoru Mohri
Director, Miraikan (National Museum of Emerging Science and Innovation); Astronaut


  • Bangladeshi Ambassador to Japan
  • Bhutanese Ambassador to Japan
  • Bruneian Ambassador to Japan
  • Cambodian Ambassador to Japan
  • Chinese Ambassador to Japan
  • Fijian Ambassador to Japan
  • Indian Ambassador to Japan
  • Indonesian Ambassador to Japan
  • Kazakhstan Ambassador to Japan
  • Korean Ambassador to Japan
  • Kyrgyz Ambassador to Japan
  • Laotian Ambassador to Japan
  • Malaysian Ambassador to Japan
  • Maldivian Ambassador to Japan
  • Marshallese Ambassador to Japan
  • Micronesian Ambassador to Japan
  • Mongolian Ambassador to Japan
  • Burmese Ambassador to Japan
  • Nepali Ambassador to Japan
  • Pakistani Ambassador to Japan
  • Palau Ambassador to Japan
  • Papua Ambassador to Japan
  • Filipino Ambassador to Japan
  • Samoan Ambassador to Japan
  • Singaporean Ambassador to Japan
  • Honorary Consulate of Solomon Islands in Tokyo
  • Sri Lankan Ambassador to Japan
  • Representative of Taipei Economic and Cultural Representative Office in Japan
  • Tajikistan Ambassador to Japan
  • Thai Ambassador to Japan
  • East Timor’s Ambassador to Japan
  • Tongan Ambassador to Japan
  • Turkmenistani Ambassador to Japan
  • Uzbekistani Ambassador to Japan
  • Vietnamese Ambassador to Japan