HOME > Program Outline


Program Outline

Purpose of the Program

  Promoting science and technology is a key engine to materialize a bright future of Asia and it is vitally important to enhance the exchange of youths in Asian countries and Japan who will play a crucial role in the field of science and technology.
  Based on this concept, “Japan-Asia Youth Exchange Program in Science” (SAKURA Exchange Program in Science) is the program for enhancing exchanges between Asia and Japan of the youths who will play a crucial role in the future field of science and technology through the close collaboration of industry-academia-government by facilitating short-term visits of competent Asian youths to Japan. This program aims at raising the interest of Asian youths toward the leading Japanese science and technologies at Japanese universities, research institutions and private companies.

Countries and Regions Eligible for Invitation

  The following 35 countries and regions, and other regions* are eligible for invitation for the SAKURA Exchange Program in Science for the year of 2018. (Alphabetical order)

East Asia:
People's Republic of China, Republic of Korea, Mongolia, Taiwan

Southeast Asia:
Brunei Darussalam, Kingdom of Cambodia, Democratic Republic of Timor-Leste, Republic of Indonesia, Malaysia, the Republic of the Union of Myanmar, Republic of the Philippines, Lao People's Democratic Republic, Republic of Singapore, Kingdom of Thailand, Socialist Republic of Viet Nam

Southwest Asia:
People's Republic of Bangladesh, Kingdom of Bhutan, Republic of India, Republic of Maldives, Federal Democratic Republic of Nepal, Islamic Republic of Pakistan, Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka

Central Asia:
Republic of Kazakhstan, Kyrgyz Republic, Republic of Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Republic of Uzbekistan

Pacific Island Countries:
Republic of Fiji, Republic of the Marshall Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, Republic of Palau, Independent State of Papua New Guinea, Independent State of Samoa, Solomon Islands, Kingdom of Tonga

*Other regions:
Argentine Republic, Federative Republic of Brazil, Republic of Chile, Republic of Colombia, United Mexican States, Republic of Peru (These countries would be officially added after coordinating with related organizations in each country and Japan.)

Qualifications of the Youth to be Invited

  Eligible youths must be a student of high school, university or graduate school, a postdoctoral researcher or a teacher, who is under 40 years old, and has never stayed in Japan before basically.

Flow of Implementation

picture:Flow of Implementation